Recent Published Research Track

last modified: 15 Nov 2021

The 18th International Conference on Principles of Knowledge Representation and Reasoning, KR 2021, invites submissions of abstracts of papers previously published in journals and conference proceedings for the Recently Published Research Track.

The track is designed to provide a forum to discuss recent research on topics related to KR that may not be immediately familiar or easily accessible to the KR community.

The track seeks papers that fall into one or both of the following two categories:

1) Papers that

  • bridge KR to other areas of AI, computer science, or to other disciplines for which an interface with KR exists (this includes database theory, game theory, social choice, logic and philosophy, etc.);
  • bridge KR to areas that make use of KR, such as multi-agent systems, planning, natural language understanding, machine learning, explainable AI; or
  • go beyond the commonly-understood boundaries of KR.

2) Papers that are tightly related to KR and

  • have been published in journals but have not been presented at workshops or conferences;
  • have been presented at conferences that are not typically attended by the KR community; or
  • have been accepted at general high-profile AI conferences such as IJCAI, ECAI, or AAAI, where the time allotted has not allowed for full discussion of all key aspects of the paper.

Submitted papers need only be of interest to a subcommunity in KR (like DL, argumentation, NMR, etc.). However, they need to be made friendly to a KR audience.

Submission materials:

  • A cover page (single page) listing the title, the authors, a complete reference to the original paper, and a public or privately accessible url from which the paper can be downloaded. A list of keywords is also expected. Finally, the cover page must contain a statement that the work the submission is based on has not been already presented to a KR audience in a major forum.
  • A one-page (preferred) and no more than two-page extended abstract of the paper following the format for regular paper KR 2021 submissions. The abstract should present the main contributions of the paper, discuss the relevance of the paper to KR, and explain the significance of the results.

A single pdf file with the materials should be submitted according to the instructions detailed in the submission page .

Submissions must meet the following criteria:

  • Candidate papers must have been published in a journal or a conference proceedings in 2019 or later.
  • Papers that are in press may be submitted as long as the final camera-ready version is available.
  • Extensions of papers that have been previously presented at a KR conference are not eligible for this track.

The key dates are as follows:

  • submission: 27 June 2021
  • notification: 30 July 2021.

Extended abstracts of the accepted papers will be linked from the conference web site.

Authors of accepted papers will present their work at the KR conference, focussing on its significance and relevance to KR. Significant time will be allocated for discussion of the interdisciplinary aspects of the work and its potential impact on future research opportunities for KR.

For any questions regarding suitability of a submission or any other aspect of the track, please email the special track program co-chairs:

Vladimir Lifschitz
Pierre Marquis

Program Committee

Antoine Amarilli (LTCI, Télécom Paris, Institut polytechnique de Paris, France)
Pedro Cabalar (University of Corunna, Spain)
Federico Cerutti (University of Brescia, Italy)
James Delgrande (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Thomas Eiter (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Hector Geffner (ICREA & Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
Andreas Herzig (CNRS, IRIT, Université de Toulouse, France)
Jesse Heyninck (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany)
Jérôme Lang (CNRS, LAMSADE, Université Paris-Dauphine, France)
Michel Leclère (University of Montpellier (LIRMM/INRIA), France)
Maurizio Lenzerini (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)
Yuliya Lierler (University of Nebraska at Omaha, United States)
Guillermo R. Simari (Universidad del Sur in Bahia Blanca, Argentina)
Mohan Sridharan (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
Francesca Toni (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
Mirek Truszczynski (University of Kentucky, United States)
Leon van der Torre (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)